IARCS, the Indian Association for Research in Computing Science, announces the 36th Foundations of Software Technology and Theoretical Computer Science conference at Chennai Mathematical Institute, Chennai, India. The FSTTCS conference is a forum for presenting original results in foundational aspects of Computer Science and Software Technology.

Representative areas include, but are not limited to, the following.

  • Algorithms and Data Structures
  • Algorithmic Graph Theory and Combinatorics
  • Approximation Algorithms
  • Automata and Formal Languages
  • Combinatorial Optimization
  • Communication Complexity
  • Computational Biology
  • Computational Complexity
  • Computational Geometry
  • Computational Learning Theory
  • Cryptography and Security
  • Game Theory and Mechanism Design
  • Logic in Computer Science
  • Model Theory, Modal and Temporal Logics
  • Models of Concurrent and Distributed Systems
  • Models of Timed, Reactive, Hybrid and Stochastic Systems
  • Parallel, Distributed and Online Algorithms
  • Parameterized Complexity
  • Principles and Semantics of Programming Languages
  • Program Analysis and Transformation
  • Proof Complexity
  • Quantum Computing
  • Randomness in Computing
  • Specification, Verification, and Synthesis
  • Theorem Proving, Decision Procedures, and Model Checking
  • Theoretical Aspects of Mobile and High-Performance Computing

Authors are invited to submit an extended abstract, presenting original research on the theory of Computer Science, of no more than 12 pages, including the title page, but excluding references and any appendix, in the LIPIcs style (instructions available here). The usage of pdflatex and the LIPIcs style file (see here for some formatting tricks) are mandatory: papers that deviate significantly from the required format may be rejected without consideration of merit.

Submissions will be in electronic form via EasyChair.

Accepted papers will be published as proceedings of the conference in the Leibniz International Proceedings in Informatics (LIPIcs), under a CC-BY license, as a free, open, electronic archive with access to all. Instructions for formatting camera-ready versions will be communicated to the authors of accepted papers. Authors will retain full rights over their work. For an accepted paper to be included in the proceedings, one of the authors must commit to presenting the paper at the conference.

  • Paper Submission deadline: July 15, 2016 (Anywhere on Earth) July 17, 2016 (AoE)

  • Notification to Authors: September 15, 2016

  • Deadline for camera-ready papers: October 15, 2016

  • Conference: December 13–15, 2016

  • Olaf Beyersdorff (University of Leeds)

  • Umang Bhaskar (TIFR)

  • Parinya Chalermsook (MPI)

  • Arkadev Chattopadhyay (TIFR)

  • Ajit Diwan (IIT Bombay)

  • Samir Datta (CMI)

  • Fabrizio Grandoni (IDSIA)

  • Daniel Lokshtanov (University of Bergen)

  • M. S. Ramanujan (TU Wien)

  • Chandan Saha (IISc Bangalore)

  • Saket Saurabh (IMSc), co-chair

  • Sandeep Sen (IIT Delhi), co-chair

  • Mohit Singh (MSR, Redmond)

  • Chaitanya Swamy (University of Waterloo)

  • Kasturi R. Varadarajan (University of Iowa)

  • Neal Young (University of California, Riverside)

  • S. Akshay (IIT Bombay), co-chair

  • Patricia Bouyer (LSV Cachan)

  • Krishnendu Chatterjee (IST Austria)

  • Pedro D'Argenio (Universidad Nacional de Córdoba)

  • Alastair Donaldson (Imperial College, London)

  • Pranav Garg (Amazon India)

  • Aditya Kanade (IISc Bangalore)

  • Steve Kremer (LORIA, Nancy)

  • Shuvendu Lahiri (MSR)

  • Akash Lal (MSR India), co-chair

  • Slawomir Lasota (University of Warsaw)

  • Madhavan Mukund (CMI)

  • Sophie Pinchinat (University of Rennes 1)

  • M Praveen (CMI)

  • Ashish Tiwari (SRI)

  • James Worrell (University of Oxford)

Computer Science Group, Chennai Mathematical Institute (CMI).

The proceedings volume of FSTTCS'16 as volume 65 of LIPIcs is officially published and available at:

Download complete volume (PDF).